Guess I’ll have to add "sociosexually unrestricted" to my OK Cupid profile…

I feel like I’ve been waiting for this article my whole life. 

I can’t count the number of times I’ve been told by friends and strangers (not to mention ALL THE MEDIA) that casual sex is detrimental to my well being and / or psychologically damaging.  That something must be wrong with me for wanting to hook up and never see the person I hooked up with again.  That I have a lot of “emotional growth” to do because most of the time, I prefer casual sex over the idea of engaging in an ongoing relationship.  When someone says to me, “You know, I guess that’s fine for you, but gosh, I could just never do it,” it feels like shaming.

So thank you, Zhana Vrangalova.  You just made my year.  Dr. Zhana also did a great podcast with Sex Nerd Sandra about casual sex recently – give it a listen!  

Leave a Reply

