The Vibease: A Toy Review

As some of you know, I have a partner (The Texan) who moved back to the US last year, which has been rough to say the least.  One of the things I was worried about when he left is that since my heart lives in my vagina, the physical distance would make us emotionally distant.
Enter the Vibease.
                   

Remote / app-controlled sex toys have popping up all over the place in the last couple of years, so I had the opportunity to do a lot of research before choosing the Vibease over the Blue Motion (OhMiBod) or the We-Vibe 4 Plus, which seem to be the two most popular long-distance vibes currently on the market.  I read news articles, blog posts, and Amazon reviews about all three; although I prefer the design of the We-Vibe, its cost was a deterrent to me*, and the Vibease’s app had better reviews. 
Last week, I finally got the chance to use my Vibease with The Texan, and it was Fucking. Hot.  We chatted while using the toy, so he could gauge how well it was working.  He could control the speed, the strength, and the pulsation pattern from his phone 7,000 miles away, which blows my goddamn mind; having someone else control the vibrations on my clitoris while my hands were free to touch elsewhere made the experience richer and more intense, as did being unable to anticipate what was coming! 
The app was super easy to download and set up, and inviting him to play was a piece of cake.  The device disconnected from my phone a couple of times, which was only a mild annoyance – never seemed like a big deal because I could immediately reconnect.  It took a few minutes for us to get it going, but once we did, everything was aces.  It makes me uncomfortable that the app wanted access to my photos and contacts; a company representative said it was so that I could send photos and connect to my partner using the app, but it still makes me nervous!
The design of the Vibease could be better, in all honesty.  There’s a small knob that’s supposed to sit at the entrance to the vagina while the flat part of the vibe rests against the clitoris; however, the end that’s supposed to rest at the vaginal entrance is the end with the stronger vibe, which doesn’t make any sense to me.  That little knob is kind of small, too – I have to wear pretty tight panties to keep it in place (a rope harness might be fun…).  Actually, what works best for me is to wear panties that have that extra crotch-protecting liner and slip it in there!

It looks like an adorable baby bird…
As far as strength goes, it packs a punch for being so small.  The vibrations are a bit more buzzy than they are rumbly, so it’s not silent; I wouldn’t wear it in, say, a library, but am super stoked to try it out on the subway!  The vibrator itself only has five pulse settings, but the app has more – as well as music / nature-based sounds / erotica that pulse as you listen.  My personal favorites are the mountain top setting, which makes the vibe rock back and forth (!) and the wave sounds (Beach Play).  The erotica is way too cheesy for me to take seriously, but good for a laugh if you’re hanging out with friends.  Use of the vibrator alone without the app features has been enough to get me off several times, but I do like the app’s pulse patterns.  The Vibease is also USB-rechargeable and high-grade silicone, both of which are huge bonuses.    
The thing I love most about the Vibease is that because the strong end is supposed to sit away from the clitoris and someone else can control it, there’s a lot of opportunity for tantric buildup and edging. 
Last weekend, I had my date slip it into her panties on the way out the door to a night club; her face when I suddenly made it vibrate while we were grinding on the dance floor was priceless.  The possibilities are endless, people. 
Overall, I really like it.  I’d like it a bit better if it didn’t move around so easily (perhaps there’s a Vibease 2.0 on the way…?), but as for now, I’m a satisfied customer.  While it’s no substitute for skin to skin contact, it helps us to maintain a sexual connection while we’re very, very far apart.

A great start to a Saturday night.

*Because I bought it near the holidays, the Vibease was only $89; the cost has since risen to $99, which doesn’t put it that far off from the $129 We-Vibe 4 Plus (app-only version; the regular version is a whopping $189) or Blue Motion.  
One thought on “The Vibease: A Toy Review

Leave a Reply

