The Butters: A Lube Review

LTASEX was one of the first sex blogs I ever started reading on a regular basis, so when Jerome asked me to review his new creation, a lube called The Butters, I was so excited!

The Butters is an all-natural lube – no parabens, no glycerin, no added colors or scents or chemicals.  It’s vegan and plant-based, and I can pronounce and identify all of the ingredients, which makes me feel good.  It’s not just lube, though – it has a multitude of uses.  The first thing I used it for was makeup removal; as someone who wears makeup infrequently, it was nice to have something to remove my foundation once in a while that wouldn’t dry out my skin without having to buy a special product.  The second thing I used it for was shaving my legs (I usually use conditioner), and it worked great!  I’ve used it for moisturizer as well, and I’m kind of sad that I don’t have Docs to shine with it.

dsc00469
Bullshit-free, people. Bullshit-free.

By the time I got around to putting it on my naughty bits, I was already sold.  The Butters is longer-lasting than water-based lube, but not as fluid as pure coconut oil; best of all, you can use it on silicone toys (but don’t use it with toys that are made from porous materials).  Something I really like about this lube is that I can use it externally and not have to re-apply (a reason I like to use silicone lube on my vulva) while using a silicone toy internally at the same time and not worry about getting silicone lube on it accidentally. This lube is fantastic for butt toys – I’ve used it with beads and plugs, and it’s perfect!  I like that it’s slippery without being runny – it’s creamy instead.  I’ve used it for manual sex, externally on myself and on a male partner; in a long hand job session, I only needed to grab a bit more lube once!  My partner was really into it, too (I believe his exact quote was, “Where can I buy this?!”).*

dsc00466

As for vaginal use – I think that’s a personal call.  There’s a lot of discussion and disagreement among sex educators about using plant-based oils as vaginal lubricants; if you’re fine with other oils, this might be okay as well. I’m prone to yeast infections, so I prefer not to use oils inside my vag at all.  And a quick PSA: Please don’t use oil-based lubes with condoms, kids.

Something I love about The Butters is the discreet packaging – once you take the label off, it’s just a small black tub.  It could be anything – meaning you can leave it in plain sight and never have to answer questions about it.  I wish it came available in a pump or squeeze tube, though; maybe someday down the road?  One of the best things about it is the price; at half the price (or less) of other lubes on the market, it’s a steal!  A 4oz tub of The Butters is only $4.50 compared to the $8 – 10 price range of other lubes at that size.

The Butters has a faint scent kind of reminiscent of a new silicone toy – not unpleasant, but present.  Not strong enough to smell if your nose isn’t right next to it, but it will stay on your fingers for a little while.  It kind of looks like semen when it’s being rubbed over a body part, which is delightful… and hot.  Overall, this is a great lube.  The texture, the endurance, and the multiple uses won my… heart.  Highly recommended! And if you’re not in the market for oil-based lube, pop over to LTASEX anyway for a good dose of entertainment and education.

dsc00471 dsc00474

*Answer: http://www.getthebutters.com

6 thoughts on “The Butters: A Lube Review

Leave a Reply

